Based on their background and field of expertise, ESEC members are split into 18 representative Groups and three main divisions covering economy and social dialogue; social cohesion and associations; and environmental and nature conservation.

Each Group has at least three members and provides a forum for representatives to present a united front based on similar ideas and interests, along with a joint (and on occasion individual) viewpoint conveyed in the work of the Council. Groups seek to have a representative in each working group, numbers allowing, or at least in working groups whose field of expertise is closest to their main concerns.

  • CFDT Trade Union Group
  • CFE-CGC Trade Union Group
  • CFTC Trade Union Group
  • CGT-FO Trade Union Group
  • CGT Trade Union Group
  • Agriculture Group
  • Craft Industry Group
  • Overseas Group
  • Cooperation Group
  • Mutual Group
  • Associations Group
  • Enterprise Group
  • Student Bodies and Youth Movements Group
  • Qualified Individuals Group
  • Liberal Professions Group
  • Environment and Nature Group
  • Union National des Associations Familiales (UNAF) Group
  • Union National des Syndicats Autonomes (UNSA) Group